Woman vs. Stencil Take II: Painted Curtains

Slide1

This project is from August…..

No but seriously, I am not letting my procrastination keep your from Woman vs. Stencil: Take II

Believe it or not even after the tragic woman versus stencil marathon match that ultimately resulted in my loss by decision, I decided to tackle a stencil project again!  Trust me, I was as scared as you are to read another post about my DIY failures…. Buuuut I have to tell you something, when it comes to stenciling there are these {somewhat totally important} tools that you need called stencil brushes {who knew} and when you pick yourself up some of these nifty little gadgets I can attest to the fact that the once daunting stencil project gets a hell-of-a-lot easier!

I had been searching high and low for curtains for the coral and gold room.  I had tried some coral sheers but they were too much for the space, I had tried some white and gold geometric but they were too stark in comparison to the linen bedding.  I was at a total loss, which is not unusual when it comes to home decor lately, do you ever feel like you are just a few steps ahead of the stores?

On a whim one day I decided I would test out the linen Ikea curtains we have in the dining room in the room just too see if they would work… and I LOVED them but they were definitely missing something.  That’s when I decided I would take on my enemy, the stencil once again to give my plain old Ikea curtains a little somethin-somethin!

DSC_0049

I started with this Martha Stewart Stencil from Michaels {bought with a 40% off coupon of course}.  It cam in a variety pack of stencils and I decided this particular variety was going to be best for me, so needless to say there may be Woman vs. Stencil Part III coming your way in the future.

DSC_0050

See that there… that’s a stencil brush… and for the total cost of about $3 I was able to get a pack or 3 of them.  They made my stencilling experience oh so much more enjoyable!  As you can see I used some painter’s tape to keep my stencil in place and a paper plate to hold my {gold} paint {martha stewart craft paint}.

DSC_0056

This was the perfect second stencil project as I didn’t care if the lines were perfect.  I quickly learned that blotting off the excess paint on my brush and “reloading” more regularly was the best way to get the look I wanted and to limit dry time between moves of the stencil.

DSC_0054

DSC_0058

I just moved the stencil as I went and used the seam on the curtains as a guide to keep the pattern {somewhat} straight.

DSC_0032

and voila! Super simple DIY painted curtains.

DSC_0033

 I love the texture you get when the light hits them. Definitely not perfect but that’s the best part!

Simply Style - Signature

Leave a Reply

