Designer on a Dime – DIY Decorative {GOLD} Spheres

Let’s talk about balls ahem, perhaps I will call them spheres instead, to save myself {and my family} the embarrassment that comes from me repeating the word balls over and over again, metal balls at that…

I am sure you’ve seen them, those decorative metal spheres, orbs, or dare I day balls {oops}.

Pottery barn did them

Image{pottery barn – galvanized metal orb $128.69}

West Elm has a few versions

Image{west elm – sculptural spheres – $31.41-$42.25}

Image{west elm – veneer spheres $17.33 – $31.41}

and even Target rocked their no longer available version of “galvanized decorative ball” {their name not mine} that Jess over at the bright green door shared here.

It was Jess’ tutorial I stumbled upon while putting in my obligatory endless hours on Pinterest one evening that inspired me.  I had considered doing something with embroidery hoops before and was excited at the idea of making myself some cheap & easy shelf decor that would fill empty space.

As you know I picked up some embroidery hoops in my latest thrifting adventure and was beyond excited to bang out this all too easy project using my most favouritest medium ever… spray paint!

#1 – Take your hoops

Image

#2 – Make your balls spheres

Image

#3 – check out your {ahem} speheres from all angles

Image

#4 – get your gold spray paint and your best grass protecting flyers

Image

#5 – get your spray paint on!

Image

#6 – check out those spheres again for good measure

Image

And last but not least…

#7 – get those beauties up on a shelf

Enough with the cheap & easy banging out ball talk… it’s time to turn the class back up here, these gold balls are nothing to make light of and since they will be living in the ever so swanky coral and gold room, let’s take a sneak peek at their new home!

Simply Style Blog - Designer on a Dime Decorative Gold Spheres

And there you have, in just 7 easy steps, two of which are completely unnecessary you too can create your own designer on a dime “spheres”

4 thoughts on “Designer on a Dime – DIY Decorative {GOLD} Spheres

Leave a Reply

