Where’s Your Head At?!

It’s happened again…

I know what you’re thinking….

It’s inevitable…

It’s true…

But I haven’t even shared the {partially} finished product with you!

If you are thinking “what the h-e-double hockey sticks is this babbling blogger up to now, you are likely not alone!

Image
{sassy e-cards.com}

I saw this e-card while wasting consciously dedicating several hours to Pinterest the other day.  And I couldn’t help but laugh this morning, while brushing my teeth when my mind felt just like that…

“what should I make for lunch, do we have any food, where did I leave that book, I wonder if I washed the guest room sheets, where’s Shaq, I have to blow dry my hair, I’m hungry, what time is it, oh I made my lunch,am I late for work, I think I’ll wear that maxi skirt, what time is it, I’m tired, I should have ran this morning, I wonder if I will ever find coral fabric, I should go thrifting after work, what will we have for dinner, is Patrick home tonight, I love this chevron bathmat, I’m bored of our office … I should re-do it”

sound the screeching tires, halting brakes and alarm sirens

“hey babe, I kind of wanna re-do the office”

If you have never heard the sound of rolling eyes before, had you been anywhere within a 100km radius of the City of Peterborough this morning around 7:42 am you most certainly would have heard my husband’s!

silence

As I walk toward our bedroom I realize this “pitch” may not be greeted with the same joyous response my spare bedroom pitch was and maybe I should turn around before I push my DIYing home decor luck but instead…

“hey, did you hear me?  I’m bored of the office, I want to re-do it”

silence. still silence.

And that my friends brings us here, to a break for the coral and gold mania I have been putting you through, to a post about a room that has been {sort of} done for nearly 6 months that I now want to re-decorate, THE OFFICE!

I shared my office inspiration a while back, but what I failed to mention was aside from some little decor additions, my office was basically done. Over.  No more.  Well not quite, those few unfinished projects have been holding me back from sharing the “big {for now} reveal” but this weekend one of these projects was saved by none other than Homesense!

You will recall that the colour palette for the office is Navy and Orange, because way back when I was given the no-go on a coral and navy office.  Well I had picked up these cardboard file holders at Dollarama for something like $1.25 {for those of you who haven’t set foot in a dollar store recently, sadly, everything is no longer a dollar at the dollar store} for two.  Which I can’t really complain about.  They had tons of bright colours and different patterns but I settled on these grey one for no reason in particular.

Image

The plan was to cover them in wrapping paper to co-ordiante them with the colour scheme and voila, easy peasy DIY project {my fav}!

Not so fast.  APPARENTLY navy and/or orange wrapping paper was not hip and happening back in November 2012 except for a sweet orange and white stripe I stumbled upon at Marshalls.  Knowing that covering all six of these folders that were to sit on top of the shelving unit in the office in orange stripes would make me sad {and likely seasick} I covered two and the others stayed in their natural state, leaving the office in a complete state of incompletion.

That is until Friday, when I took my therapeutic week-end trip to Homesense for a wander about and as I was leaving saw not one but TWO rolls of the most perfect answer to my navy and orange office prayers.

Image

What’up navy chevron and orange geometric wrapping paper for $3.99 where have you been my whole for the last 6 months of my life?!

I quickly snagged them up since it was the last roll of BOTH patterns {what!?} and was likely the happiest wrapping paper shopper that cashier has seen in her whole career! And after a whole 15 minutes {while watching resale royalty} BAM!

Image

This should have been a tutorial shouldn’t it…. just wrap ’em like a present!

Image

Those are some good looking file holders if I do say so myself.  Not to say the grey and white wasn’t beautiful {they will totally look great in my office when I finally convince Patrick a makeover is in order} but for now I’ve got to get these last few office projects finished so I can share the final reveal!

2 thoughts on “Where’s Your Head At?!

  1. OMG LOVE this blog post! LOL! So funny!
    I totally understand the tabs e-card! Shelby doesn’t understand why I use more than one tab on the computer… literally.
    Any funny how it’s the little things that make a big difference! Love the project. 🙂
    You’re so fan-freakin-tastic!

Leave a Reply

