Designer on a Dime: DIY Rope Mirror

Have you ever seen something you love but when you check out the price tag your bank account doesn’t love it so much?  If you’re anything like me that happens all too often!

Awhile back I shared this mirror that I spotted at… you guessed it, HomeSense!

Simply Style Blog - Designer on a Dime: DIY Rope Mirror{HomeSense Rope Mirror}

When I saw this I kind of fell in love, but, though not “designer” the $79.99 price tag was not really working for me.  As I stared longingly at this mirror in the middle of HomeSense I realized, DIY duh@!!

I often look at items and determine whether they are DIYable or not.  Let’s be honest, you can’t DIY everything but you CAN DIY many things, and this rope mirror was one of them.

So that being said I was on the lookout for a large round mirror.  I considered other ways to make these DIY possible including finding a smaller round mirror, mounting it on a round of plywood and roping the wood, but, if you have ever read another post you know I like a quick and easy DIY better than anything so all the “work” involved in the wood option was so not rocking my world.

What did rock my world was a trip to Vinnie’s the other day.  On a whim I stopped in one evening on my way home from work and when I looked in the basket of mirrors and found two large round mirror options, I heard those little chubby cherubs singing their angelic songs of praise {what?!}.  One was a perfect plain round mirror, the other had a slightly not so perfect pond flower etching around the boarder {barf}.  I obviously instantly grabbed the better looking of the two but then for some reason my forward thinking self stepped in {thankfully} and when I flipped over that good looking round mirror there was no way to hang it! Knowing that finding a way to make this mirror work was going to involve a lot of work, I decided that the pond themed one deserved a second look.  When I flipped it over and saw a very secure hanging system I quickly ditched the good looking one and picked up my homely mirror and headed up front.

Simply Style Blog - Designer on a Dime: DIY Rope Mirror{the before}

The $15 price tag a a little more than I was hoping to spend on my used {and very ugly} mirror, but since all the other materials for this project were already in my craft supply, I knew it would be my only investment in this mirror and $15 vs. $80 +tax price tag left me still coming out on top!

This was an evening project.  I sat down with my thrifted mirror, the same rope I used for my rope lamp revamp, and my handy dandy glue gun {and a whole truck load of glue sticks} and got to work.

Simply Style Blog - Designer on a Dime: DIY Rope Mirror{my supplies}

I started by using the same technique I had developed when created my rope wrapped lamp by putting lines of glue on the mirror and then placing the rope.

Simply Style Blog - Designer on a Dime: DIY Rope Mirror{gluing the rope}

Then I realized I could do glue “dots” and this technique was a helluva lot easier on my hands since I wasn’t fighting as much with my glue gun.

Simply Style Blog - Designer on a Dime: DIY Rope Mirror{the better technique}

So I would place a few beads of glue, then rope and set that on repeat for an hour and half or so as I enjoyed some Resale Royalty on the DVR.

Simply Style Blog - Designer on a Dime: DIY Rope Mirror{placing the rope}

I went around and around and around and around.  This is not a tough project as you can see.  Once I had enough rounds of rope on my mirror I thinned out the end of the rope so I could “camouflage” it into the end and not have such an abrupt or obvious stop.  And here is the final product:

Simply Style Blog - Designer on a Dime: DIY Rope Mirror{Not so bad for an ugly $15 mirror}

Simply Style Blog - Designer on a Dime: DIY Rope Mirror

What do you think of this upcycled transformation?  Is the rope mirror working for you?  I am kind of loving the rope accents for the family room and now that I have a rope mirror and rope lamp and only a little bit of free rope left, I am thinking I need to create one of these rope handle trays I came across while perusing some design magazines this weekend.

Simply Style Blog - Designer on a Dime: DIY Rope Mirror{rope handled tray}

If I wasn’t loving my rope accents enough lately, this weekend while at HomeSense I came across this version of the rope mirror.

Simply Style Blog - Designer on a Dime: DIY Rope Mirror{HomeSense rope mirror}

I prefer the more nautical vibe of the first one and the one I created but this definitely displays the infinite possibilities when working with rope!

Simply Style Blog - Designer on a Dime: DIY Rope Mirror

9 thoughts on “Designer on a Dime: DIY Rope Mirror

  1. Pingback: Dorm Design Inspired by the Nautical Trend – College Fashion

  2. Pingback: Dorm Design Inspired by the Nautical Trend | ForeverVogue | Because Life is a runway

  3. Pingback: Dorm Design Inspired by the Nautical Trend | FFBlogs

  4. Pingback: Dorm Design Inspired by the Nautical Trend | znests.com

  5. Pingback: Dorm Design Inspired by the Nautical Trend | Blog Post Directory

  6. Pingback: Dorm Design Inspired by the Nautical Trend | Varsity Team

  7. Pingback: Thrifting Finds |

Leave a Reply

