Lamp Revamp

There is a serious bug going around, a few friends have caught it, I’ve caught it, actually thanks to Pinterest the better part of the globe has caught it.  Don’t worry it’s nothing too serious, it’s just the DIY bug.  Though some may blame it on Pinterest, for me, Pinterest has only been feeding the seed that was long ago planted by my ridiculously talented, artistic and crafty mom!  From a very young age we were always making, creating and doing and as such I guess it is no surprise that I have carried these habits into our home.

I know when all of this started Patrick thought I was a little crazy.  I never really had the opportunity to do everything I wanted before since we were always in apartments.  Sure I decorated, recovered and even made my first upholstered headboard back then {thanks mom} but only since we’ve been in the house have I really been able to dive into my DIY obsession.

Today’s project was 100% Pinterest inspired.  I stumbled upon this picture while losing several hours  on Pinterest one day.  

Simply Style Blog - Lamp Revamp

{photo credit teachcraftlove.blogspot.ca}

I loved the concept of wrapping rope to create a great decor piece, but I didn’t plan to use a vase, I knew exactly how I wanted to adapt this DIY project as my own, I was going to wrap a lamp!  When my parents were moving they had a bunch of still in the package spools of rope that I couldn’t just let them throw out.  The rope made its way into one of my “craft” bins where it lived for about 2 years, that is until this project came up.

Inspired and actually having some free time one day, I headed out to my local Vinnies {St. Vincent de Paul} where I found the exact shaped lamp that I was looking for for only $5 {less a 10% discount for being a student at the time}.  Unfortunately I got a little excited to get started as soon as I got home and forgot to take a proper “before” picture but here is the lamp rope wrapping underway.

Simply Style Blog - Lamp Revamp{sort of before}

With a lot of hot glue and only one roll of my rope, I got to wrapping my lamp.  This job was not difficult but it was time consuming and a little hard on the fingers after awhile.

Simply Style Blog - Lamp Revamp{in progress}

This project could not get any simpler.  Just would glue a little, wrap a little, glue a little more.  I went through a LOT of hot glue {crafter tip: hot glue sticks for the mini gun come in packs of 15 at Dollarama for only $1.25} but when your only investment in the project is a $4.50 lamp, a package of $1.25 hot glue sticks really isn’t so bad.

When I finally got to the bottom of the lamp {just a few classic 90210 episodes later} I simply untwined the rope slightly and tucked the tail under the base.  

Simply Style Blog - Lamp Revamp{the finished product}

I picked up this lampshade for only $10 at a local home design store here but it is WAAAAAAAAY too big for this lamp. Looks like I will be looking for another lamp project so I can use this great shade!  

Simply Style Blog - Lamp Revamp{rope lamp drowning in shade}

With the navy walls in the family room I have really wanted to keep everything else light and natural.  I know rope and navy can lend a little to the nautical side but I still kind of love it!  This was such a fun easy project and I still have some rope spools left.  Remember that rope mirror I shared in a retail therapy post awhile back?  Well it looks like this:

Simply Style Blog - Lamp Revamp{rope mirror – HomeSense}

Why pay the retail price tag when this would make such a simple DIY? I think I will tackle it in the near future!

Total cost of this Lamp Revamp:  Lamp  $4.50, Rope FREE, Hot Glue $1.25, Shade $10 for a TOTAL of $15.75!!!!! That’s a pretty cheap lamp if you ask me!

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Lamp Revamp

Leave a Reply

