The Last Few Days

What a great weekend! We have been having BEAUTIFUL weather and that continued into Saturday and Sunday.  I was lucky enough to spend the weekend outside in the plus 20 degree weather {before you think I’m insane, that’s celsius for any fahrenheit readers} with my family.  My uncle was visiting and he and my parents made the trip up to visit! It was great to see them and especially fantastic to have their help with getting our front garden beds under control.  I look forward to sharing them with you soon after just a few more tweaks!

With the beautiful weather comes many things, more outdoor time, longer dog walks, barbecuing and sunshine.  Do you know what else comes as we move from the cold of Canadian winter to the beautiful spring and summer weather?  Garage sale season! People start cleaning, purging and clearing out their once loved treasures and these sales are some of the best deals you can find if you are in to updating, upcycling, repurposing or any of those other currently so trendy buzz words! Sure they are sometimes a “waste of time” as some may say, you could go to sale after sale and see absolutely nothing but every once and awhile you stumble upon a real find!

Here are a few of my future projects that made the cut this weekend:

Simply Style Blog - These Past Few Days{wing chair $15}

Our local Knights of Columbus hosted a garage sale this Saturday at our neighbourhood church.  I have been looking for a wing chair to reupholster for awhile but have only seen them for upwards of $50-$200 which I just can’t justify! When the kind gentleman told me $15 for this one I am sure he thought I was going to say no but I jumped all over it!

Simply Style Blog - These Past Few Days{pedestal table $4}

My visitors and I were on our way out to Lakefield to enjoy an ice cream and walk along the water when mom spotted a “sale”.  This lady had all sorts of furniture spread across he front lawn, I wish I had taken a picture, and I spotted a great barrel chair that was only $12 and this table for a whopping four bucks! I obviously couldn’t pass it up but decided that one chair was enough for the weekend so we left the chair behind and good thing because we wouldn’t have had any room for all my plants if we hadn’t!

Simply Style Blog - These Past Few Days{dresser FREE}

I’m pretty lucky to have both parents and in-laws who support my crazy habits and this cute little dresser is a product of that support!  My amazing mother-in-law emailed me awhile back and asked if I would like this dresser they had and of course I said YES!  Don’t worry, it’s a little taller than this but the legs had to be removed for transport so I will have a better before picture for you when I tackle this project! I can’t decided if she will sport a fun bright colour or just a fresh coat of white, what do you think?

How was your weekend? Did you score any great garage sale finds? Enjoy some sunshine? Get any gardening done?

2 thoughts on “The Last Few Days

  1. Didn’t have much time for thrifting. I celebrated Easter this weekend and spent countless hours baking and dying eggs – fun! So, although I probably missed out on some treasures, I’m glad to see you didn’t. Terrific finds! I can’t wait to see what you do with them.

Leave a Reply

