Roman Shade Makeover

Yesterday I shared my bedroom window treatment update.  I am not prepared to do a tutorial on anything just yet, mostly because I am less than diligent at the whole taking pictures throughout the entire DIY process….. but I am working on that and I promise I will post a few tutorials in the future.  For now here are a few shots of my roman shade makeover.

ImageThis is the green monster I started with, I know it doesn’t look all that greeny/teal/blue but it was I swear.

Simply Style Blog - Roman Shade Makeover

I let the shade all the way down and laid it face down on the fabric and pinned along the top.  I was lucky, this shade velcros to the mechanical piece that operates it so it made it easier to work with!

Simply Style Blog - Roman Shade Makeover

Theres the pins along the top and now you see what I mean about it detaching.

Simply Style Blog - Roman Shade Makeover

Simply Style Blog - Roman Shade Makeover

Simply Style Blog - Roman Shade MakeoverThen I folded the sides over and pinned them in place.

Simply Style Blog - Roman Shade Makeover

I sewed the side partially but I found that after breaking a few (3) sewing machine needles I decided that this wasn’t the best method.  Because of the dowels it was really hard to secure it so I just ended up tacking the side at every dowel point by hand.

Simply Style Blog - Roman Shade Makeover

and once again the finished product!

Leave a Reply

